Skip to content

Till Death Do Us Part

November 19, 2009

4 story walk to get a Birth Certificate
Who ever thought, it’ll turn into a Death Certificate

I know we keep harping on about how sudden death can occur, but till it hits closer to home you really don’t stop to think.. what if it’s me or worse what if it’s a loved one?

Last night spent the most awkward half hour of my life at a funeral house of a family friend. The women bawling each time somebody shows up, or the phone rings. It was such a sudden thing, that people still call and ask for him. What words can you offer to lessen their suffering? Take heart in the fact that he didn’t suffer at all? Yeah right. All I could offer was just silence.

The fact that they were of a different ethnicity and most of the wailing was happening in a language that I understood only a little of, didn’t matter. It was obvious, what his wife was saying, his sisters and his nieces. But still, all I could offer was my solemn silence, and a mumble of “deepest sympathies” that didn’t offer much to them.

Just as you close this page, don’t close your mind to the fact of how much this life we have is taken for granted. Every moment is precious. At the risk of sounding like one of those cheesy email fwd’s, take a moment to show the people you care, your love, give them a tight hug, call them up even if it’s the middle of the night. I know he would, if he could..

R.I.P. Uncle R.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 11:57 am

    In moments like that, whatever people say to comfort you do not make sense…

    It’s easy to watch…but when experiencing it, you just go numb…. and well.. I think I should stop now.

  2. November 19, 2009 3:36 pm

    Some of my dad’s clients kept calling after he died, because they hadn’t heard the news about his death. I got tired of it pretty soon so I bluntly replied “He’s dead”.

    Stunned silence. Heh.

  3. November 19, 2009 4:35 pm

    @LD & @Darwin : The 3 of us share the same loss. Not that it is any comfort.. but I just realized..

  4. Chavie permalink
    November 19, 2009 4:50 pm

    I’m sorry about your loss mate! May he rest in peace! 😦

  5. diGa permalink
    November 20, 2009 9:34 am

    sorry if I got to you last night… didn’t know… Sorry about your loss.

  6. November 20, 2009 10:03 am

    aww

  7. November 20, 2009 10:28 am

    @diGa : Aiyo no machang.. you didn’t he he.. was just a bit sleepy.

  8. November 20, 2009 11:03 am

    So sorry chaar.. take care of yourself

Leave a Reply

