Skip to content

A Number

April 5, 2009

The other day, while sipping a quiet drink (before it was interrupted by an annoying fellow company person) it dawns on me that my immediate boss’s PA (the hip and happening, catchy, zippy name for Personal Assistant) has an IT degree and is 2 months away from completing an MBA. The realization is jolted with a memory of myself asking her why she didn’t follow through in that field, some time ago. You know as politely as you could rephrase “what the fuck are you doing here woman?” She, smiling as always replies without a care in the world “oh, I didn’t like Programming that much”. Do I even bother going through the other numerous possibilities and avenues available to her? My memory doesn’t server me properly. Maybe, I would have shrugged it off and moved on, but still with a bewildered look on my face.

Anyways, I’m told that she’s been traded in for the not so voluntary retirement scheme to save the average johnny. Not that I have anything against him but, a comparison of the two would lead to a simple mat-slide. She on the other hand is going about her business as usual, earning probably quarter of the salary she ought to earn, calling up people and organizing stuff, and having to take shit from numerous people half as qualified as her, including my self. While the others are complaining, flaring their tempers at the drop of a hat, worried sick whether they’re gonna be bumped off, she’s always with a smile, seemingly unmoved by all this. So yeah, it’s she who needs to get axed, after all.

It’s obvious that it’s purely a numbers game here. Not identifying the value an individual brings to the organization, but merely a name on an excel sheet generated by some random filtering process thought up by some big shot on the way to work. In light of all these and more (that I cannot discuss here), you’d be crazy to think that I even bothered to get my email fixed. Let it serve as a reminder that we are merely numbers in this organization and also how long the system will take to detect a mistake on it’s own.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 8:20 pm

    Totally sad! Some people just don’t have a care for the future and live only for the present! Anywayz, as long as she enjoys it, I don’t think it should bother either you or me too much! πŸ™‚

    There’s this fellow cyber-employee of mine whom I met at a lunch party organized by the company, and, when asked by my sister what she was doing (most of us were doing this job as a part-time thing while doing some other studies), she’s like “I’m not really sure what I want to do, just enjoying life!”.

    And she was HOT! πŸ˜€

  2. April 6, 2009 9:43 am

    you know, I’m more or less like her… dunno why these things happen really..but it is frustrating…
    but, maybe it’s happening for good..:) this might make her look out for something better and lets hope there’s something better for her..:)

  3. April 6, 2009 10:20 am

    @Cricket : The only reason I’d be bothered is I’d hate to see someone get axed, just because they don’t go suck up to the boss. Sad situ… don’t you think?

    @ld : I can think of a few more ppl like her. It’s just sad.

  4. Santhoshi permalink
    April 7, 2009 3:58 pm

    Thats sad. There seems to be so many like that…

  5. neb permalink
    April 11, 2009 3:11 pm

    tears rolling down my cheeks

Leave a Reply

