Skip to content

Bradby Weekend | Kandy | Friends | Wasted | The Curse | Knock-on | Move-on

July 4, 2008

Bradbdy Weekend – Kandy

Well the title says it all, I would say. The annual pilgrimage to the hill capital was a success this year as well. The ride was faster, compared to last year. Probably because we left much earlier. Apart from a small de-tour to get our tickets from “aney-watte” or “aneee-watte”, we were in time for the lunch buffet this year. The food was nothing much to write home about, featuring mostly Sri Lankan and less Continental. But then for 2300 bucks per person on FB basis you hardly can complain with the rising cost of everything.

The Match

By far the most thrilling match in the season (school boy that is… CR Kandy game was better) for me. Not that our Boys played brilliantly. The same mistakes kept happening and handling errors were more than a few, specially at crucial stages and 5 meters away from the try line. However they seemed to stick to a game plan and it worked for the majority of the game.

IMO the ball should have been kept with the boiler house boys, as the line was standing way too deep, and by passing it to them, we just kept taking it back rather than forward. The Trinity scrum-half and flank had a good game spoiling the ball many a time, but was dangerously offside and finally got penalized by the ref.

Bilal

Some were of the opinion that it was Bilal vs Trinity. Well it looked like that during certain parts of the game, but there were other play makers who were worth a mention. There is also some debate about him being a selfish player. Well if anyone saw that run he made, taking on about 4 tacklers along. Where was the support? Here you got a chap playing in the pack, taking the ball up a good 20-30 meters sucking up defense, and what the hell is the point of having a 3/4 line, if they cant keep up to him? So, obviously this boy has issues trusting others to give out the ball, so he keeps on trying to take the entire team on, on his own. Like one of my friends said, he can take on 14 men, but by the 15th he’s burnt out. I’m sure there’ll be clubs eying this lad next year. It’ll be nice to see him perform in a properly functioning team.

The Knock-on

Who saw it? who didn’t? The much debated topic. Those who saw it on TV, are of the view that there wasn’t a knock-on and it was a mere interception by Shylendra. Even the replays have supposedly provided evidence to back it up. Those who saw the match from close quarters (including the Ref Dilroy Fernando), admit it being a knock-on. I for one was neither. I was struggling behind the goal post on the far corner. straining my eyes to make out what the Dilo (Ref) was signaling half the time. Yes, as you can see I have good eye sight, powered by the opticians in Liberty Plaza. πŸ™‚

Move-on

While it feels right to harp on “what-if’s” it’s better to just move on. Our chaps played a good game, and the Trinitians would have pissed all over their pants, fearing the “Biggest Come Back” in the series. So although we don’t have that title, we always can harp on “Beating the Shits out of the Lions in their own Den”. So guys lets move on, we could have won it if not for some handling errors, more support given to the play makers etc. But we didn’t so shape. Now where’s my Drink.

Friends

Speaking of which, guess who I bumped into at the Match…

Ok ok… moving on.. post match, jumped into the pool.. to relax and re-wind. Now that was a nice stress reliever. Specially since we didn’t have time to get-in in the afternoon. The relax part was soon to be over, as the chaps decided to take on the sport of water polo, which turned out to be water rugby in the dark. I must say, that I played a decent blind goalie, in bad light conditions.

Wasted

The game plan was to stay in-doors and get wasted murdering every possible song we could think of. Away from the monkeys wanting to steal our clothes and crash the party, I might add. With a few scares, of the heavy hitters of the side pulling fast one’s that their too sleepy/tired, the innings got off to a rather slow start. The surface was definitely not suitable since we were testing out the new “Absolut Mango”. After many leading batsman folded due to the after taste of the dreaded mango, the wicket was moved to a more familiar knick of the woods.. “Absolut Apeach”. Yours truly having requested the Mango, found him self with half a bottle to finish and a few more apeach, far too much for his comfort, but the music helped him stagger on.

If your lucky enough to see our rendition of “When I Need You”, you will know what I’m talking about. Amongst many other things discovered, a new way to switch a light off was the highlight of the night’s discoveries. Using a Rubber slipper mind you. πŸ˜€ All things said and done, with the middle order providing able support the night was pro-longed till 4.30am, for yours truly at which point I had to retire hurt. I hear the last two had stood their ground, albeit a wee bit wobbly, here and there… till 6am.

The Curse

Some of you might know I suffer from the curse. While I was abducted by aliens (yes, the truth is out there) they had probably done all the experiments in their Understanding Humans Better Tests list, and thought “lets insert an alarm clock in this one.. just for the fun of it you know..”

So as you might have figured it by now, I’m up by 6.30am on the Sunday morning of a Bradby weekend. Burping away that Mango shit. Please may this serve you as a warning, the aftertaste is definitely not for the faint hearted. So what do I occupy my self with, besides wondering how I ended up tucked-in in the corner of the double bed, when all I can recall is passing out in the middle of it? Well clean up the mess till 7.30. Grab my IPod head to the pool and listen to some tunes, at which point I realise I need to have something to overpower the crappy after taste. So to the Breakfast buffet to grab some coffee, where I get stared at by all the patrons there. So I ask you was it just me? Or was it the gal-shorts and t-shirt saying “Me So Horny”? I would have changed into something more appropriate, just that I was locked out of my room. There was some good talent that, I had missed during lunch and dinner. Good good. I’m gonna get kicked in the nether regions for this now. Ouch.

Back to Royal.. Happy land, happy land.

After a brief re-cap of the nights highlights to those who retired early, and a good breakfast, some more water polo rugby, it was time to make the journey, back home. Back to the polution in the air, back to the insane traffic, back to people with problems looking to take it out on you.. back to the real world.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2008 9:19 am

    The wasted part is very VERY interesting…:D

  2. July 4, 2008 9:20 am

    btw, wasn’t there any HBC? πŸ˜‰

  3. July 4, 2008 10:01 am

    Ha ha.. trust you to skip to the interesting bits.. πŸ™‚ Sadly no HBC, nor any worthy bites worth mentioning. We had to rely on “Black & Gold” the trusted choice of mixture.. πŸ˜‰

  4. kalusudda permalink
    July 4, 2008 10:27 am

    Seems like you had fun! I will be tomorrow! it’s 4th of July holiday and I will on the beach and getting walled. I will be celebrating my new surf board straight from Hawaii.

  5. July 4, 2008 2:44 pm

    Indeed I had loads of fun.. Hope you have a blast over the 4th of July Weekend. Dont forget to post pics.. πŸ™‚

  6. July 4, 2008 4:31 pm

    Machan sorry post was too long to read through. You should slightly enlarge font. Sorry growing old and blind.

    Who won?

    And I must say I do love your drink collection.

  7. July 6, 2008 4:57 pm

    I thought the Trinity bugger knocked it forward and Shylendra grabbed it on the bounce, which would technically mean advantage… but wtf? shit happens… good game. Big weekend. Love it.

  8. gutterflower permalink
    July 8, 2008 8:56 am

    Completely unrelated, but why is it ‘Chaar~max returns’? Where exactly are you returning from?

    Just curious. πŸ™‚

  9. July 11, 2008 6:48 am

    d : We won the Kandy leg.. But the Bradby was won by Trinity on a points aggregate of 12-8. Oh and sorry abt the theme, it needs an over haul badly, just cant find the time. Soon.. I promise.

    Scourge : The prob is the TV angels apparently don’t show the ball bouncing. The other prob is apparently it was Nabeel who knocked it down and Shyla who picked it up and ran. Oh well..

    Gutter : Shouldn’t you be studying rather, than worrying about such trivial matters? Ok ok.. just so you shoudln’t break rest over it.. It means I have returned from my old Blogger blog. Just that it’s been some time since I have returned so.. I need to change the title, or let unassuming folks keep wondering where I come from. πŸ™‚

  10. July 31, 2008 7:50 am

    Ah. riiiight. Thanks, I can now sleep at night. πŸ™‚

  11. August 4, 2008 5:15 pm

    Glad to hear that I have helped you in some way.. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

