Skip to content

Judging the Rear-End

May 23, 2008

I’m sorry. I think I was misuderstood. Did you come here expecting some “ass” story? I hope not, coz you’d be very dissapointed. What I was referering to was the not the rear end of a human but a play (which one could argue, contains a considerable amount of humans too :-P).

What am I going on abt? ‌Well I was honoured with the priviledge of judging backstage at the Interact Drama Competition yesterday. While this was not the first time I was presented with such an honour, I suppose it’s rather unfair to expect a promotion to judge the actual plays on offer. Maybe I’d have to start directing a few of my own plays, and maybe writing a few to start off would help.

Well since a majority of you wouldn’t have had the opportunity to watch/enjoy a play from the rear, I must say it’s a different but pleasant experience. Unlike from front, where you see a much broader and bigger picture, gazing at a play through the wings, gives you a very selective view, apart from the black curtains that is. So you tend to concentrate on what ever character is visible to you. He/she might be interacting with many on stage but it’s as if their delivering a soliloquie. Your left to imagine what the other characters reactions are.

Also it gives you the chance to observe the little intricacies of the players, how confident they are, whether they are in character right through out (or is it like a jump in and out of character when they have lines to deliver).

The most interesting but of all, is that you get to see the play within a play. The drama that is happening backstage, the crew running wildly trying to setup stage, characters hurrying on to stage going through their lines etc. 90% of the time things wont go to plan, and then you bare witness to spur of the moment drama at its height. You’ll here shrugs, gasps from backstage.

A good example of this was one particular school were debating as to whether they were going to finish off with a dance item they had prepared or not. The sound not coming on time and minor mishaps led them to scrap it off finally, but it was fun to watch them debate behind the curtain, while the play was unfolding in a new pattern of events they hadn’t foreseen.

All in all it was a truly FUN experience and would be happy to do the same, till I get that promotion. 🙂

It also should be mentioned that, the organising of the said event was rather rusty to say the least, especially of an event that is expected to be matured after 21 years of putting the show together. I believe there has been a lack of knowledge transition from the seniors to juniors, and hope this would be ammended by next year, as it would be a true shame not to do so.

Oh and “Hats off to the Winners.. BC”.. and better luck next time to Petes, LC and Anula. I feel your pain. 😦

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2008 12:17 am

    Dude…titles that disappoint!

  2. May 24, 2008 9:06 am

    very interesting way to say thy story I must say…;)

    I heard about the drama competition.. some friends’ siblings took part in it I believe….

    it sure is fun from the rear-end…:D heard about those too..many a time…;)

  3. May 24, 2008 5:02 pm

    I actually thought this was about things with 4 wheels, not 4 limbs 😛 Anyhoo, happy for you that you had some fun with the rear end. 😉

  4. May 25, 2008 9:22 pm

    Titles that disappoint indeed!

  5. May 25, 2008 11:26 pm

    Hmm.. I think i might have made a connection. 🙂

    And no, I’m not stalking you.

  6. May 26, 2008 12:48 am

    Well I gave enough notice from the first line it self, but you guys just had to read the whole story, just to make sure ya?

    And looks like I can’t step out of the house these days without being stalked by ppl like Gutter. 😦 So was it an obvious connection? or your just shooting in the dark? 🙂

  7. May 29, 2008 1:51 pm

    I almost came for it except I figured I was too old for it… But like Gutter, it’s only a matter of time now I’m afraid…
    I hope I don’t need to go into hiding now that I’ve told you this…

  8. May 29, 2008 3:12 pm

    Ha ha.. “Almost” came.. so does that mean you came upto the Wendt gates.. and saw all the teeny boppers in their attire.. and turned away?

    Aaagghhrrr.. I guess it’s time I just put a pic in here.. not likes it’s gonna make any difference now 😦

  9. June 6, 2008 8:29 pm

    ha ha…. Actually I thought about it and then decided not to come… dinidu was there apparently, wonder if he saw you…
    And I know who you are now by the way… and you weren’t who I thought you were… odd.. but someone in the same circle nevertheless… But I swear I won’t tell anyone… 🙂

  10. June 7, 2008 1:14 am

    Dinidu was indeed there. And thankfully for me Dinidu or actually in this case the useless organizing committee got my name wrong. So you’ll still have to keep guessing 🙂

  11. June 7, 2008 1:27 pm

    could you please change the colour of the text .

Leave a Reply

