Skip to content

End of Avurudu

April 21, 2008

The Sinhalese and Tamil New Year celebrated in April is different from the hype created for the New Year on Jan 1st. Probably the only hype for the Dawning of the New Calender Year is, on what is the most suitable way to Celebrate the ending of the year. Hotels or Down South or Just get together in your back yard or Spend the night calming your dogs.

The hype created in April with the sound of the koha is very different. It’s more of spend time with family, either at home carrying out the numerous traditions or get away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo with the whole family.

What ever the case may be, every good thing has to come to an end. So does Avurudu. How do I know it’s time?

  • The Koha seems to have moved on with his racket. If you cant find one close by I’m told there are ring tones for those who miss it.
  • I hit the road.. and so have another million people. Just when I was getting the hang of getting to work in half the time I’d normally spend.
  • The moment I sip the bitter Tea at office, I know the end of the sweet sugary life style is over. Not that the Tea lady makes crappy tea. The pain is self inflicted, as I request sugerless plain tea for obvious reasons.
  • There is a queue for the Cardio machines at the Gym. Apparently I’m not the only one who’s been sitting at home and munching on Kavum, Kokis and Kiribath. And my butt feels odd on the rowing machine.
  • Last but not the least, when there is a reduction of the times you see Sangakara wishing you a “Suba Aluth Avuruddak Viva“. I doubt it’ll stop though. Not until Vesak atleast.

For those who are stuck at work and missing it already, thought I’d upload a pic of our traditional avurudu lunch prepared when all the relations come over to give bulath (beetle).

Nothing fancy just plain ol crab curry, chicken, ala thel dala, kadju curry and mung ata mallum. Yummy!

Ok ok.. now… Welcome back to Reality. If you think your still dreaming its time to Pinch your self out of it. Back to Work!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 2:13 pm

    I miss the holiday hype in Colombo… I suppose the post-avurudu slump lasts only until the next long weekend? Incidentally Vesak’s around the corner I believe 😀

  2. April 21, 2008 10:20 pm

    What is it a about sri lankan holidays that makes them better than holidays anywhere else?

  3. April 22, 2008 8:49 am

    Vindi : May 19,20th another 4 day loooong weekend to await.. although less hype than avurudu

    Charmed : I think the difference is in the people who celebrate the said holidays 😀

  4. April 22, 2008 10:45 am

    That was wicked!!! :p

    oh man.. the pool was closed for a month due to renovations and I can’t wait to hit a few lengths again and burn all that I gobbled up with utmost greed!!

  5. April 22, 2008 3:29 pm

    Well join ssc!! You can lose weight and add weight at the same time 😉

  6. April 23, 2008 2:22 am

    Yes I agree with you, there is a difference in the people too.But theres something even more special about lankan holidays…..sigh I can’t belive I missed another one of ’em!

Leave a Reply

